In 2021, $40,000 was awarded to the City of Holyoke to hire a qualified structural engineering firm to complete a design/study with a recommended rehabilitation plan for the “outlooks” (concrete retaining walls) overlooking the Connecticut River at Pulaski Park. The study will develop a long-term maintenance plan and identify necessary permitting to complete the work. The concrete walls at Pulaski Park are an original feature of this historic Olmstead-designed park, treasured by residents in the City of Holyoke. Portions of the wall are weathered and starting to tilt towards the embankment and Connecticut River.

One of Holyoke’s flagship parks, Pulaski Park was originally named Kerry Park and later Prospect Park. The park was rededicated in 1939 to American Revolutionary War hero Casimir Pulaski. Almost twelve acres in size, Pulaski Park was designed by famous landscape architect Frederick Olmstead to showcase the views of the Connecticut River and the Holyoke Dam. Shaded walkways, benches, and flowing pathways lend themselves toward a beautiful setting at the edge of downtown Holyoke.  The eastern edge of the park also hosts a large water spray area, playscape, basketball and volleyball courts.  A skate park was constructed in 2104.  This project is underway with a completion date of 2024.